About Careers MedBlog Contact us

Virginia Mason Tops the List of U.S. Hospital for Ninth Straight Year

by Himabindu Venkatakrishnan on December 22, 2014 at 5:03 PM
Font : A-A+

 Virginia Mason Tops the List of U.S. Hospital for Ninth Straight Year

The Leapfrog Group named Virginia Mason on top in its annual list of Top Hospitals in the nation for the ninth consecutive year, on Sunday.

Virginia Mason is the only hospital in Washington state to receive the 2014 Top Hospital award for quality and safety, and it is the only hospital in the U.S. to be named a Top Hospital every year since the recognition program was launched in 2006.


"The Leapfrog Group's methodology sets a high standard for identifying hospitals that are truly committed to providing the highest quality and safest care," said Virginia Mason Chairman and CEO Gary S. Kaplan, MD. "The Top Hospital award acknowledges our organization's extraordinary achievements and our team members' focus on creating a perfect patient experience."

An elite distinction earned by hospitals through the Leapfrog Hospital Survey, the Top Hospital award is given to less than 7 percent of all eligible hospitals in the country.

"Leapfrog's Top Hospital award is widely acknowledged as one of the most prestigious distinctions any hospital can achieve in the United States," said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group, an employer-based coalition - whose members include The Boeing Co., AARP, Federal Express, United Parcel Service and Verizon - advocating for improved transparency, quality and safety. "It recognizes institutions for their excellence in quality of care and patient safety, as well as their commitment to transparency."

"By achieving Top Hospital status, Virginia Mason has proven it's a premier institution and deserves to be recognized for its dedication to the families and patients," she added.

Virginia Mason is one of only 94 hospitals in 27 states recognized as a Top Hospital this year. The selection is based on results of The Leapfrog Group's annual survey of hospitals' performances on patient safety and quality indicators. The survey focuses on three critical areas of hospital care: how patients fare, resource use and management structures established to prevent errors. Performance across many areas of hospital care is considered in establishing the qualifications for the award, including rates for high-risk procedures and a hospital's ability to prevent medication errors.

Source: Newswise


Latest Hospital News

Hand Hygiene can Keep Healthcare-associated Infections at Bay
Is hand hygiene important in hospital settings? Clean hands can help patients and staff in healthcare settings to avoid healthcare-associated infections (HAIs). So, wash your hands
How Clean Hospitals can Reduce Antibiotic Resistance
Antibiotic resistance may result from poor hygiene practices in hospitals or other medical facilities, stated study.
 Patient Care Improves When Doctors Know Each Other
Will patient care be better if the specialist knows the referred doctor? Yes, friendly relationships among physicians have a major impact on the quality of care.
Can 3D Hologram Technology Save Lives in Hospitals
The novel device developed is integrated into a device small enough and cheap enough for medical professionals slip into their pocket as they travel to remote areas.
 Heart Health Meter (HHM): India's First App to Assess Heart Health
Heart Health Meter (HHM) developed by Madhavbaug under its 'Save My Heart's mission uses a scorecard that measures various stages of heart health.
View All
This site uses cookies to deliver our services.By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Use  Ok, Got it. Close

Virginia Mason Tops the List of U.S. Hospital for Ninth Straight Year Personalised Printable Document (PDF)

Please complete this form and we'll send you a personalised information that is requested

You may use this for your own reference or forward it to your friends.

Please use the information prudently. If you are not a medical doctor please remember to consult your healthcare provider as this information is not a substitute for professional advice.

Name *

Email Address *

Country *

Areas of Interests