Blood Pressure Range

Blood Pressure Range

High blood pressure is also known as hypertension. It is measured in mm Hg (millimetres of mercury).

Blood pressure is always given as two numbers- systolic pressure (when the heart beats) and diastolic pressure (when the heart relaxes). When the measurements are written down, both are written one above or before the other with the systolic being the first number. It is measured using an instrument called the spygnomanometer. It can also be measured digitally.

It is very difficult to correctly define normal blood pressure as the blood pressure range can vary widely. A single blood pressure monitor reading is not reliable. Blood pressure monitor readings must be taken at different times of the day to determine average blood pressure over a period.

High Blood Pressure Range

Systolic (mm Hg) Diastolic (mm Hg) Stages of High Blood Pressure
210 120 Stage 4
180 110 Stage 3
160 100 Stage 2
140 90 Stage 1

Normal Blood Pressure Range

Systolic (mm Hg) Diastolic (mm Hg) Pressure Range
130 85 High Normal Blood Pressure
120 80 Normal Blood Pressure
110 75 Low Normal Blood Pressure

Low Blood Pressure Range

Systolic (mm Hg) Diastolic (mm Hg) Pressure Range
90 60 Borderline Low blood Pressure
60 40 Too Low Blood Pressure
50 33 Dangerously Low Blood Pressure


  • When systolic and diastolic pressure falls into different categories, the higher category should be used to classify the blood pressure level example 160/80 mm Hg would be considered as Stage 2 High Blood Pressure.
  • A blood pressure of 130/80 mmHg would be considered as high blood pressure for people with diabetes or chronic kidney disease.
Check Your Blood Pressure Regularly
Recommended Reading

open close