Different Stages of Atkins Diet

Phases of the Atkin's Diet -

Induction -

It is the first 14 days of the plan. If combined with exercise a dieter can achieve 5-10 pounds of weight loss per week. The weight loss during this stage is due to limiting carbohydrate intake to 20 grams a day; 12-15 grams of which must come in the form of green salads and other fruits and vegetables. This carbohydrate restriction is intended to cause the body to quickly enter a state of ketosis.

Ongoing Weight Loss (OWL) -

The OWL stage comprises of gradually increasing the carbohydrate intake, but not exceeding the level where weight loss occurs. The carbohydrate intake during this stage is increased by 5 grams per week. This phase lasts until weight is within 10 pounds (4.5 kg) of the target weight.

Pre-maintenance -

The total daily carbohydrate intake is increased by 10 grams each week. The key goal of this phase is to determine the maximum number of carbohydrates a dieter can eat each day without gaining weight. Weight loss is achieved a little slowly during this phase. In this phase the body begins to lose the protection of ketosis as one prepares for the last phase.

Maintenance -

This phase intends to continue the eating habits adopted in the previous stages. Some carbohydrates are re-introduced back into the diet, but not the ‘bad’ ones, as they will result in the weight returning.


stdmk Thursday, November 5, 2009

how dose no carbs work

Brian Wednesday, December 24, 2008

I like the presentation of available foods in the chart view. Useful Resources

Brian Wednesday, December 24, 2008

www.wear-out.com useful information found here.

guest Monday, August 18, 2008

I would like to know how to cook the meat i can eat meat all the time but it has to be fryed? and that about dark meat. I don;t like white meat and skin can we eat it please advise

Most Popular on Medindia