The Seven Chakras

The word 'chakra' means 'wheel' in Sanskrit. The yoga Upanishads (circa 600 A.D) refers to the chakras as psychic centers of consciousness. The seven chakras are located in the spine, in the subtle body surrounding the gross physical body. The subtle body is not visible to the ordinary eye.

What Are Chakras?

Chakras are constantly moving, continuously absorbing, currents of energy. Each of the chakras resonate with a certain colour, sound and frequency. When the chakras function well, then energy flows unhindered through our system, which is utilized for our growth and development.

When these energy centers are awakened, they whirl in a clockwise direction and help to establish the inner balance, the key components for good health. When the energy flow in the chakras is clear and unhindered, then a person's body, mind and soul experience a sense of well-being. But, if the energy flow in the chakras is blocked, then, there is an imbalance in the person's being.


What Is Prana?

Yogis say that chakras are centers of spiritual energy. This energy is called prana or life force. Each chakra contains a definite number of nadis and these nadis possess a tone or vibration. The chakra centers circulate pranic energy and energy is activated through these centers. Each chakra sends energy to the particular part of the physical body and correspondingly, the mental body too. Prana is a link between gross body and subtle or astral body.


The union of prana and mind with the self is the goal of Hatha yoga. There are three important Nadis in the spine. They are: Ida, Pingala and Sushumna Nadi.

  • Ida nadi represents – negative force – flow of consciousness.
  • Pingala nadi represents – positive force – flow of vital energy.
  • Sushumna nadi represents – neutral force – flow of spiritual energy.

Nadis carry pranic currents to all parts of the body. It is said that there are 72,000 nadis in our body.