Dr R K Mani's Profile

Dr R K Mani

Group CEO and Chairman
Dr. R K Mani, Group CEO and chairman Critical Care, Pulmonology and Sleep Medicine, Nayati Medicity, Mathura and Nayati group of hospitals, Agra and Amritsar. Former President of the Indian society of critical care Medicine(ISCCM) and Chairman of the Ethics Committee that formulated guidelines on End-of-Life and Palliative Care.

Indian Supreme Court Allows the ‘Right to Die With Dignity’ and Makes Passive Euthanasia Easier to Implement

  • The Indian Supreme Court has given legal sanction to passive euthanasia stating that patients have the right to die with dignity
  • The Court has issued a detailed guideline in this regard that will remain effective till a law is in place
  • Medindia spoke to Dr. R K Mani, Chairman of the Ethics Committee that formulated the guideline on End-of-Life and Palliative Care about his views on the Supreme Court's judgment
The Supreme Court of India in a landmark judgment has allowed an individual to draft a 'living will' in advance to ensure that they are not put on unnecessary life support, if they slip into an irreversible coma. The judgment was passed by a five-judge Constitutional bench comprising Chief Justice of India (CJI) Dipak Misra and Justices AK Sikri, AM Khanwilkar, DY Chandrachud and Ashok Bhushan, which said: "Human beings have the right to die with dignity."

Passive euthanasia involves the withdrawal of medical treatment with the deliberate intention to hasten the death of a patient with an incurable disease. ...

Read More

Other Interviews

Dr. Ambrose Pradeep  Dr. Vijay Viswanathan MD, Ph.D, MNAMS Dr. Raghuram Mallaiah Dr. Manokar Panchanatham Dr. Srinivasan Meena Dhadha D. Nedunchezhiyan Mr. S.K. Dogra Dr. Ambika Kameshwar, Ph.D. PDF Dr. R.Thara, MD, Ph.D Dr. P.B. Lohiya Dr Duru Shah Dr. Kamala Selvaraj MD, DGO, PhD Dr. Abhishek Srivastava Mr. Sridhar Iyengar Dr. M.K. Mani Dr Ranjana Srivastava Dr. Arvind Krishnamurthy Dr. Mukund Mehta, M.D. Dr. Georgi Abraham, MD, FRCP Bhushan Gaur Dr. Peter Nelson Kanchana  Padmashri Dr. K.M. Cherian, MBBS, MS, FRACS, DSc (Hon), DSc (HC) Dr. Tirath Das Dogra Dr. Francis Delmonico, President-elect of World Transplantation Society Mr. Somenath Nag Dr. Alan R. Hirsch M.D., F.A.C.P Dr. V. Mohan Ravi Samuel