Beer is usually made from gluten-rich barley or wheat. Some are allergic to wheat protein or gluten and this keeps them from drinking beer. On Wednesday, Anheuser-Busch Co. Inc. introduced Redbridge- a beer made from gluten-free sorghum for those allergic to gluten and those who have opted for a gluten-free lifestyle.
Food containing gluten is known to cause Celiac disease, which damages the intestines. Gluten is a protein present in wheat, barley and oats.
AdvertisementAngie Minges the product manager of Anheuser-Busch said "We've made Redbridge nationally available to make sure adults who experience wheat allergies or who choose a gluten-free or wheat-free diet can enjoy the kind of beer that fits their lifestyle."
The company had consulted the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA) on the needs of consumers who are leading gluten-free or wheat-free lifestyles, before coming out with the product.
The beer is safe for those who are allergic to gluten and also tastes good.Imported Hallertau and domestic Cascade hops have been added to sorghum, to make the beer well balanced with moderately hopped taste.
Redbridge will be available nationwide in restaurants and stores carrying organic products.
The beer contains 4.8% alcohol like the other types of beer, and is available in 12-ounce, six-pack bottles.
According to the National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse, one in 133 people in the U S suffer from celiac disease.
PProtein Essential for Kidney-to-Bladder Urine Transfer Mayo Researcher Discovers Target Site for Developing Mosquito Pesticides M
You May Also Like