About Careers Internship MedBlog Contact us

Types of Yoga

Written by Medindia Content Team | Reviewed by Medindia Complementary Medicine Team on Mar 07, 2013



Patanjali is regarded as a divine incarnation of the serpent Anantha, who is revered as the 'supporter of the whole universe'. He is the Adhisesha of Lord Mahavishnu.

It is believed that on instructions from a great teacher, Patanjali identified all the teachings in the Vedas about the mind and presented them in a precise and organized form called 'yoga'.


Patanjali's yoga system aims to unite the individual self with the Supreme One. According to Patanjali, one can attain this union by controlling and eliminating the ever- arising 'vrittis' or modifications of the mind. He also suggests that the mind, in turn, can be controlled through the right kind of discipline and training.

Types of Yoga - Patanjali

Patanjali says that there are basic obstacles pervading the mind that are not conducive to yoga practice. He divides these obstacles into two groups:

  1. Antarayas (intruders in the path of yoga)
  2. Viksepasahabhuvah (co-existing with mental distraction)

There are nine Antarayas. They are:

  1. Vyadhi (physical disease)
  2. Styana (mental laziness)
  3. Samsaya (doubt)
  4. Pramada (heedlessness)
  5. Alasya (physical laziness)
  6. Avirati (detachment)
  7. Bhrantidarsana (false perception)
  8. Alabdha- bhumikatva (non-attainment of yogic states)
  9. Anavasthitatva (falling away from yogic states attained)

Vyadhi means physical disease and is the first obstacle to the practice of yoga. If the body is inflicted with disease, it has to be cured and restored to a healthy state. Disease causes disturbance in the mind and makes it impossible to practice yoga or, for that matter, any other form of physical discipline.

Styana refers to mental laziness. This trait in the human psyche makes one desirous of the fruits of action without the required effort. Discrimination and will power should be cultivated to do away with mental laziness. Discrimination helps us to understand the benefits of yogic disciplines.

Samsaya means doubt. When one tries to control the mind, doubts arise. The mind does not know the benefits of concentration. Therefore, faith in oneself, the spiritual teacher and holy books is essential. Faith is necessary to dispel doubt.

Pramada means heedlessness. If one is heedless to cultivate virtues and follow truth, then the practice of yoga is not possible. Lack of vigil will lead to a steep fall in spiritual life.

Alasya or physical laziness (sloth) will attract ills like poverty. One should involve oneself in healthy activities to overcome such laziness.


Avirati refers to detachment. To practice yoga, the mind should be purified of material desires and a sense of detachment should be cultivated.

Bhrantidarsana or false perception leads to self-conceit. This trait is not good for anyone who is keen to practice yogic disciplines.

Alabdha bhumikatva means non-attainment of yogic states due to evil tendencies in our personality. These should be recognized and eliminated by dispassionate and deep introspection. Otherwise, progress is hindered.

Anavasthitatva means falling away from yogic states after reaching them. A person who has reached a lofty mental state can slide to a slow ruin, with just one base action. So, actions leading to a downfall have to be obliterated.

Post a Comment

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.


apoorvayoga, India

Yoga exercises helps in increased our strength, Yoga also helps clear the mind and distress using meditation. The benefits of yoga are numerous.

MalaSuresh1, Saudi Arabia

I feel cold & pain in calf muscle, ankle & toes while standing, sitting or lying down but while walking or excercising (including running) it's allright ie no cold & no pain

sang1, India

very interesting and informative.it kindles my interest to know more and more about yoga.

parry, United States


Recommended Readings
What's New on Medindia
The Law Behind Tobacco Control in India
Diet for Osteoporosis
Corporate Criminal Liability of Healthcare Providers and Hospitals
View all
YOGA - Related News Yoga and Pranayama can Benefit Alzheimer's Patients
Unlock the Magical Benefits of Yoga
Combining Yoga With Regular Exercise Enhances Heart Health and Well-Being
Simple Yoga Asanas and Pranayama Poses to Overcome Anxiety and Panic Attacks
Yoga for Fatty Liver - Health Benefits of Yoga Asanas for Liver
Yoga can Cause and Cure Neck Pain
Face Yoga for a Younger You
Secrets to Better Sleep: Catch More Zzz's with Yoga and Naturopathic Rituals
At-Home Yoga Can Reduce Anxiety and Improve Memory
Enhancing Cancer Survival: The Power of Yoga and Walking
More News

Medindia Newsletters Subscribe to our Free Newsletters!
Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.
Benefits of Registration
This site uses cookies to deliver our services.By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Use  Ok, Got it. Close