About Careers Internship MedBlog Contact us


Written by Medindia Content Team | Reviewed by Medindia Complementary Medicine Team on Nov 05, 2012



Mudra meditation is part of yoga practice and by doing mudras one can activate pressure points to heighten the healing effects.


All the five fingers represent five elements namely- fire, air, sky, earth and water. The thumb represents the fire-element and the index finger-the air. The middle finger represents the Sky whereas the ring finger-the Earth. The Little finger represents the Water element. When a finger representing an element comes into contact with thumb an electro magnetic effect is created.


Pran mudra activates the earth (ring finger) element and water (little finger) element. This mudra empowers the eyes.

Surya Mudra activates the earth (ring finger) element and helps in reducing body weight.


Post a Comment

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.


nimboopv24, India

I would like to know any cure for spondilitis problem

malaraj, India

The information is very useful and we can follow these simple practices and keep our health fit.

Recommended Readings
What's New on Medindia
Quiz on Poisoning (Advance)
Remembering Those Who Can't: World Alzheimer's Day
Tooth Discoloration
View all
YOGA - Related News 5 Healthy Breakfast Ideas to Pump Up Your Morning Yoga Practice
5 Yoga Poses to Transcend the Confines of Mind and Fight Back Grief
No Time? No Problem! Mini Yoga is the Ultimate Yoga Capsule You Need
Yoga Offers Solutions to Major Health Issues
Yoga Trends That You Must Explore This Yoga Season
Embrace Nature and Wellness: Discover the Magic of Outdoor Yoga
Yoga-mazing: 20 Mind-Blowing Yoga Trends That Will Blow Your Zen
Kundalini Yoga May Benefit Older Women With Alzheimer's Risk Factors
Exercise Training and Yoga Help Adults With Asthma Breathe Better
More News
Get Health and Wellness Secrets from Our Engaging eBooks
This site uses cookies to deliver our services.By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Use  Ok, Got it. Close
Greetings! How can I assist you?MediBot