Written by Dr. Anitha Paderla, MBBS | 
Medically Reviewed by dr. reeja tharu / dr. sunil shroff, MBBS, MS, FRCS (UK), D. Urol (Lond) on Apr 19, 2013


There are two types of Hypersomnia that are recognized - Idiopathic or Primary and the Recurrent type.

Based on the different symptoms of excessive sleepiness, hypersomnia have been grouped as:

  1. Idiopathic Hypersomnia or Primary Hypersomnia
  2. Recurrent Hypersomnia

Recurrent hypersomnia have been further classified into:

  • Kleine–Levin Syndrome (KLS)

A rare form of periodic hypersomnia,this sleep disorder is also known by other names such as Critchley's Syndrome, Kleine-Levin-Critchley Syndrome, Kleine-Levin Hibernation Syndrome, Familial Hibernation Syndrome, Periodic Somnolence and Morbid Hunger

  • Post Traumatic Hypersomnia
  • Menstrual-Associated Hypersomnia


  1. Primary Hypersomnia - (http://www.emedicine.com/med/topic3129.htm)
  2. Hypersomnia - (http://www.sleepdisordersguide.com/hypersomnia.html)

Most Popular on Medindia