Last Updated on Jun 04, 2020

Types of Hodgkins Lymphoma

Hodgkins Lymphoma is divided into Classical Hodgkins disease and nodular predominant Hodgkins disease.

The two main types of Hodgkins lymphoma are:

I. Classical Hodgkins lymphoma.

Classical Hodgkin lymphoma is divided into four subtypes, based on how the cancer cells look under a microscope:

  • Lymphocyte-rich - Classical Hodgkin lymphoma.
  • Lymphocyte-depleted Hodgkin lymphoma.
  • Nodular sclerosis Hodgkin lymphoma.
  • Mixed cellularity Hodgkin lymphoma.

II. Nodular lymphocyte predominant Hodgkins lymphoma.

In the Nodular lymphocyte predominant Hodgkins disease, the malignant Reed-Sternberg cells express B cell markers, such as CD20. This type may eventually progress to develop diffuse large B-cell lymphoma.


  1. Journal of Clinical Oncology, Vol 3, 1605-1612, Copyright 1985 by American Society of Clinical Oncology
  2. Pediatric Hodgkin's disease in India , K Dinshaw, S Pande, S Advani, G Ramakrishnan, C Nair, G Talvalkar, DN Rao, P Notani, R Rao and P Desai, Journal of Clinical Oncology, Vol 3, 1605-1612.


leila Sunday, December 21, 2008

i m going to marry with a guy that had this cancer and had stem cell tarnsplant too.i want to know that is there any danger again?i mean after BMT is it possible to come back ? thanks.

guest Thursday, December 20, 2007

wonderful animation ...but could i use it fr my presentation please...@ NIH

Most Popular on Medindia