Written by Vanessa Jones, B.A  | 
Medically Reviewed by Dr. Sunil Shroff, MBBS, MS, FRCS (UK), D. Urol (Lond) on Aug 28, 2014

Clinical Trials and Its different Phases

Scientists and researchers are constantly in the process of developing new treatments or tests for various diseases and conditions. Clinical trials serve as a vital component for improving the treatment of medical conditions as they lead to higher standards of patient care.

These tests are then tried out on animal models first and then on humans to closely monitor the potential benefits and drawbacks of new or existing tests and treatments. Clinical trials consist of 3 Clinical phases before it is eligible for approval by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Each phase of a clinical trial is designed in such a way to obtain specific information about the new treatment or drug.

The various Phases are as follows:

  • Pre Clinical Testing
  • Phase I
  • Phase II
  • Phase III
  • Phase IV

Latest Publications and Research on Clinical Trials - Different Phases of the trial


jagan1206 Wednesday, January 7, 2015

can any one give me different names given to different phases in clinical studies?

infoalcpl Friday, October 29, 2010

My colleagues and I have just concluded one of India's most in-depth studies on "Clinical Trials in India". We have looked at various areas such as:
- Market Trends
- Growth Drivers
- Regulatory Bodies and Framework
- Major Players.
We interviewed over 200 individuals and firms to collect the data in what we believe is one of the most detailed study on the subject in India.

Most Popular on Medindia