Types of Lipoproteins

General categories of lipoproteins, listed in order from larger and less dense (more fat than protein) to smaller and denser (more protein, less fat):

Chylomicrons - carry triacylglycerol (fat) from the intestines to the liver and to adipose tissue.

Very low density lipoproteins (VLDL) - carry (newly synthesised) triacylglycerol from the liver to adipose tissue.

Intermediate density lipoproteins (IDL) - are intermediate between VLDL and LDL. They are not usually detectable in the blood.

Low density lipoproteins (LDL) - carry cholesterol from the liver to cells of the body. These are sometimes referred to as the "bad cholesterol" lipoprotein.

High density lipoproteins (HDL) ľ These collect cholesterol from the body's tissues, and bring it back to the liver. They are sometimes referred to as the "good cholesterol" lipoprotein.


Neer19 Saturday, February 9, 2013

Is it possible to eat oily food if pluse rate is more then 72 n a day at 19yrs, age.

habeeb Monday, October 15, 2012


Sahil75 Tuesday, April 10, 2012

I have Total/HDL ratio of 5.4, how can I reduce it ?

Rajeev Goenka Wednesday, January 7, 2009

i have total/hdl ratio of 5.13, how can i reduce it ?

Most Popular on Medindia