Written by Mita Majumdar, M.Sc. | 

Medically Reviewed by The Medindia Medical Review Team  on Jun 14, 2018

Seven Chakras and Our Health

What are Seven Chakras?

Welcome to the subtle world of the chakras – the human energy system. For sure, the chakras are not something physical, we can’t see them. They are aspects of our consciousness. But, chakras help us to understand the close relationship between our consciousness and our body, or what we call as the mind-body relationship.

There is an aura of mysticism surrounding the chakras. Whenever we talk of chakra, we get the illusion of the energy pattern leading to spiritual alchemy. But how many of us are really aware that chakras healing can go beyond ‘psychic’ or spiritual and heal our physical body?

"The Life-giving Orange Ray of the Cosmos permeates my being by way of the solar plexus filling me with vitality and the joy of life, revivifying my glands, recharging my etheric body, and rejuvenating every atom and particle of my being." -S.G.J. Ouseley

Seven Chakras Colors

Chakras or the ‘whirling disk’ or ‘wheel’ are the psychoactive energy centers in the human body. These are directly associated with physical, mental and emotional health of a person. There are many chakras in the human body but only seven of them constitute the main energy centers. All seven chakras have their own particular color, light and specific number of ‘petals’ or segments around the perimeter of the chakra circle. These are the colors we see in the rainbow – violet, indigo, green, yellow, orange, blue and red. Each of these seven chakras vibrates with a specific frequency related to their color. The decisions we make and how we perceive and respond to conditions in our life is regulated by these vibrations.

Seven Chakras

Here’s a simple explanation of where the chakras are located and how the vital life force flows.

  • The life force (prana, chi, or simply energy of the subtle body) flows through the Shushumna Nadi corresponding to the spinal cord of the physical body.
  • To the left of Shushumna is the Ida channel which carries the feminine or lunar energy. Ida corresponds to the left side of the body and the right brain. It controls the mental processes.
  • To the right of Shushumna is the Pingala channel which carries the masculine or sun energy. Pingala corresponds to the right side of the body and left brain. It controls the vital processes.
  • Ida and Pingala are very much like the negative and positive charges of electricity flowing through complex circuits.
  • Ida and Pingala twist around the Shushumna very similar to that of the Caduceus symbol (sometimes used as symbol for doctors).
  • The points on the Shushumna where Ida and Pingala cross each other form the energy centers called Chakras.

In a healthy body, the energy flow is harmonious and all the chakras are in equilibrium. In the blocked chakras (similar to a blocked artery), the energy does not flow harmoniously. This results in imbalance of the chakras.

The physical manifestation of each chakra is through specific glands/nerves in the endocrine system and the nervous system. An imbalance in the chakras is expressed through these systems resulting in physical and mental illness.

1. Root Chakra or the Muladhara

Location: Below the sacrum bone (base of the spine)

Endocrine System: Adrenal glands

Organs/System Affected: Large intestine and rectum; some influence the function of kidneys, muscular system, and the fat cells.

Deficiency/Excess: Disorders of the bowel and large intestine, eating disorders, depression and immune related disorders, chronic lower back pain, and lack of energy.

2. Spleen Chakra or the Svadishthana

Location: Lower abdomen

Endocrine System/Hormonal Gland: Pancreas

Organs/System Affected: Liver, kidneys, and the lower abdomen.

Deficiency/Excess: Chronic back pain, sciatica, loss of appetite, blood cancer, diabetes; dysfunction of reproductive organs, spleen, and urinary system.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra or the Manipura Location: Solar plexus (below the diaphragm)

Endocrine System: Pancreas and the adrenal glands

Organ/System Affected: Respiratory system, the digestive system, the lower back, the sympathetic nervous system, the pancreas, spleen, and the liver.

Deficiency/Excess: Stomach and liver problems leading to digestive disorders, diabetes, pancreatitis, arthritis, and allergy.

4. Heart Chakra or the Anahata

Location: Chest

Endocrine System: The thymus gland

Organ/System Affected: Heart and circulatory system, the pulmonary system, the immune system, upper back, shoulders and arms.

Deficiency/Excess: Disorders of the heart or lungs, asthma, allergies, immune deficiency problems, and tension between shoulder blades.

5. Purification Chakra or the Vishuddhi

Location: Throat

Endocrine System: The thyroid and the parathyroid glands

Organ/System Affected: Throat, neck, mouth, teeth and gums, ears, muscles.

Deficiency/Excess: Chronic throat problems, mouth ulcers, laryngitis and thyroid problems, ear infections, headaches, and pain in the neck and shoulders.

6. Third Eye Chakra or the Ajna

Location: Between the brows.

Endocrine System: Pituitary and the pineal glands.

Organ/System Affected: Brain, nervous system, eyes, ears, nose and the sinuses.

Deficiency/Excess: Headaches, ear and eye problems, brain tumor, stroke, neurological disturbances, learning disabilities, and spinal disorders.

7. Crown Chakra or the Sahasrara

Location: The crown of the skull

Endocrine System/Nervous system: Pineal gland in the brain / central nervous system

Organ/System affected: Cerebrum, top of the spinal cord, brain stem, pain center and nerves.

Deficiency/Excess: Constant sense of frustration, no joy, destructive feelings, migraine headaches and depression. Excess of energy in this chakra causes confusion, spiritual addiction, and dissociation from body.

Chakra Balancing

Chakra balancing is a common form of energy healing. The following techniques are beneficial in harmonizing chakras:

  • Aromatherapy
  • Yoga, Reiki, Meditation
  • Color therapy, Sound therapy
  • Hypnosis and Positive affirmations
  • Always having a positive attitude in life
  • Physical exercise

"Our remedies oft in ourselves do lie
Which we ascribe to heaven"
(William Shakespeare in All's Well That Ends Well)

Latest Publications and Research on Seven Chakras and Our Health


BrahmaGupta Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Very informative in simple terms.

Do you wish to consult Complementary Medicine Doctor / Alternative Medicine Doctor for your problem? Ask your question

Most Popular on Medindia