Last Updated on Oct 21, 2020

What is Monoplegia?

Monoplegia is the paralysis of anyone of the four limbs of the body, but usually affects the arms. Monoplegia of the upper limbs is called brachial monoplegia, while that of the lower limbs is called crural monoplegia. Interestingly, in monoplegia of the arm, although the limb is paralyzed, the pulse remains unaffected.

Monoplegia is primarily caused by cerebral palsy of which it is the mildest symptom and therefore indicates a good prognosis for the patient. Besides cerebral palsy, some other neurological conditions are also associated with monoplegia. For example, hemiplegia, paraplegia or quadriplegia may begin with monoplegia, before spreading to other parts of the body.

Classification of Monoplegia

Monoplegia is classified under the World Health Organization (WHO) International Classification of Diseases 10th Revision (ICD-10) into the following three categories:

  • ICD-10: G83.1 Monoplegia of the lower limb
  • ICD-10: G83.2 Monoplegia of the upper limb
  • ICD-10: G83.3 Monoplegia (unspecified)


  1. Approach to a Patient with Hemiplegia and Monoplegia - (
  2. Brachial neuritis caused by varicella-zoster diagnosed by changes in brachial plexus on MRI. - (
  3. Pure motor monoparesis due to ischemic stroke. - (

Latest Publications and Research on Monoplegia

Most Popular on Medindia