by Dr. Trupti Shirole on  May 13, 2015 at 5:28 PM Tropical Disease News
Kenya Lifts Travel Ban from Liberia After It was Declared Ebola-Free by WHO
The Ebola epidemic has claimed more than 11,000 people in the three West African countries since the outbreak began in December 2013. In order to contain the spread of the virus, Kenya had banned travelers from Sierra Leone, Guinea and Liberia on August 16, 2014. However, now the Kenyan government has lifted this suspension of travelers from Liberia with immediate effect after the World Health Organization and the government of Liberia on May 9, 2015, declared the country free from Ebola after 42 days without a new case. The Kenyan government lauded Liberia for the successful containment of the Ebola outbreak.

Health Cabinet Secretary James Macharia said, "However, the country will continue to screen all travelers coming to Kenya from Liberia and other countries until the outbreak is controlled in the world."

Celebrations were, however, muted by thoughts for the deceased and medical charity Medecins Sans Frontieres (MSF) urged vigilance until the worst outbreak of the disease ever recorded was also extinguished in neighboring Guinea and Sierra Leone.

The UN health agency said, "We would maintain an enhanced staff presence in Liberia until the end of the year as the response transitions from outbreak control to vigilance for imported cases and, finally, recovery of essential health services."

Source: Medindia

Most Popular on Medindia

More News on: