List of Nobel Laureates in Medicine

page image

Choose a name and click on it to go to the Laureate's page.

Year Names Discoveries
2013 James E. Rothman
Randy W. Schekman
Thomas C. Sudhof
"for their discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells"
2012 Sir John B. Gurdon
Shinya Yamanaka
"for the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent"
2011 Bruce A. Beutler
Jules A. Hoffmann
Ralph M. Steinman
"for their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity" and the other half to Ralph M. Steinman "for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity"
2010 Robert G. Edwards
"for the development of in vitro fertilization"
2009 Elizabeth H. Blackburn
Carol W. Greider
Jack W. Szostak
"for studying the way chromosomes are protected and for discovering the ‘immortality enzyme’ telomerase"
2008 Harald zur Hausen
Francoise Barre-Sinoussi
Luc Montagnier
"for their work on viruses"
2007 Mario R. Capecchi
Sir Martin J. Evans
Oliver Smithies
"for their discoveries of principles for introducing specific gene modifications in mice by the use of embryonic stem cells"
2006 Andrew Z. Fire
Craig C. Mello
"for their discovery of RNA interference - gene silencing by double-stranded RNA"
2005 Barry J. Marshall
J. Robin Warren
"for their discovery of the bacterium Helicobacter pylori and its role in gastritis and peptic ulcer disease"
2004 Richard Axel
Linda B. Buck
"for their discoveries of odorant receptors and the organization of the olfactory system"