Medical Society Of Milwaukee Announces 2018 Award Winners

Friday, January 19, 2018 General News
Email Print This Page Comment bookmark
Font : A-A+

Aurora Health Care CEO Dr. Nick Turkal, Rep. John Nygren among recipients; event proceeds benefit Hunger Task Force & Fondy Food Center

MILWAUKEE, Jan. 18, 2018 /PRNewswire/ -- The Medical Society of Milwaukee County, an

organization representing 3,700 physicians and medical students, today announced its annual award winners.  The following winners will be recognized at the Medical Society's annual awards dinner on Saturday, March 3, 2018, at the Milwaukee County Zoo, Peck Pavilion.

Health Care Champion Award

WI State Representative John Nygren

This prestigious award recognizes individuals who demonstrate extraordinary leadership, vision, and commitment to advance health care at the city, county, or state level.  As the State's torchbearer to establish legislation to reduce opioid and prescription drug abuse, Representative John Nygren is a dynamic and compassionate leader who has improved the quality of life for individuals and families suffering from drug addiction.

Community Impact Award

Dr. Veronica Gunn, VP Population Health Management and Payment Innovation, Children's Hospital of Wisconsin

This prominent award recognizes individuals who provide leadership to advance a critical health care topic in Milwaukee.  Dr. Veronica Gunn's innovative, compassionate, and hands-on leadership in developing programming around the social determinants of health in underserved neighborhoods is exemplary, including a program to adopt neighborhoods in some of the most challenged areas.

Dr. Erastus B. Wolcott Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Nick Turkal, President & CEO, Aurora Health Care

This esteemed award recognizes physicians who carry on the distinguished legacy of the Medical Society's founder, Dr. Erastus B. Wolcott, who is honored with a statue in Lake Park.  As stated of Dr. Wolcott, Dr. Turkal is also "Eminent in his profession.  A lover of humanity.  Who delights to serve." 

As one of very few physician CEO's for large integrated health care systems, Dr. Turkal has removed barriers to moving health care forward amidst all the challenges facing health care.  His core beliefs are admirable: "Stay true to your purpose, actively listen, and never become complacent."  He leads a stellar system-wide initiative to articulate Aurora's purpose – to help people "live well."

Medical Student Leader Award

Stephanie Wong, Medical College of Wisconsin

This significant award recognizes a medical student who has exemplified the attributes, skills, and passion beyond academics to be a leader in the field of medicine, and as such is an inspiration to fellow medical students.  Witnessing a lack of care for the underserved while growing up, today Ms. Wong is passionate about alleviating health disparities in underserved communities. 

More than 350 physicians, business and community leaders will attend with a reception at 5 p.m., featuring hors d'oeuvres, silent auction, photographs by Babboni, and cash bar.  Dinner and program will begin at 7 p.m., with a special appearance by former Green Bay Packer LeRoy Butler.  Melinda Davenport, Co-Anchor, WISN 12 News This Morning, will serve as the Master of Ceremonies.  Attire is formal, black tie optional. 

Register at 

Contact Kathy Schmitz, Executive Director, at or (414) 475-4750.


Cision View original content:

SOURCE Medical Society of Milwaukee County

Post your Comments

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
* Your comment can be maximum of 2500 characters
I agree to the terms and conditions

News A - Z


News Search

Medindia Newsletters

Subscribe to our Free Newsletters!

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Find a Doctor

Press Release Category

Press Release Archive

Stay Connected

  • Available on the Android Market
  • Available on the App Store