Mayo Clinic Web Sites Awarded W3 and eHealthcare Leadership Awards

Tuesday, December 23, 2008 General News
Email Print This Page Comment bookmark
Font : A-A+

ROCHESTER, Minn., Dec. 22 Mayo Clinic Web sites recently won awards in several classifications of the eHealthcare Leadership Awards, presented by eHealthcare Strategy & Trends, and two classifications of the W3 (World Wide Web Consortium) Awards, presented by the International Academy of Visual Arts.

Mayo Clinic's medical and professional services site,, won two W3 awards: a highest-honor "Best in Show" award for copy or writing, and a "Gold" award in the health care services category. also won four eHealthcare Leadership Awards: two highest-honor "Platinum" awards for "Best Overall Internet Site" and "Best Health/Healthcare Content" respectively in the "Hospital 400+ beds" and "Medical Practice/Clinic" categories; along with two "Gold" awards for "Best Overall Internet Site" and "Best Health/Healthcare Content" in the "Hospital 400+ beds" and "Medical Practice/Clinic" categories.

Mayo Clinic's consumer health information site,, won two "Silver" awards: one for "Best Overall Internet Site" and one for "Best Health/Healthcare Content," both in the "Consumer General Health Site" category.

Mayo Clinic EmbodyHealth (, a personal health management portal for businesses and other organizations, won two "Platinum" awards: one for "Best Health/Healthcare Content" and one for "Best Overall Internet Site" in the "Business/Process Improvement Applications or Products" classification.

The W3 Awards honors creative excellence on the Web and recognizes the creative and marketing professionals behind award-winning Web sites, Web Video and Online Marketing programs. The W3 is the first major Web competition to be accessible to the biggest agencies, the smallest firms and everyone in between. The W3 Awards is sanctioned and judged by the International Academy of the Visual Arts, an invitation-only body of top-tier professionals from a "Who's Who" of acclaimed media, advertising and marketing firms.

The eHealthcare Leadership Awards program recognizes the best Web sites and business improvement initiatives of a wide range of organizations. Judges compared sites with others in their classification and reviewed sites based on a proprietary multipoint standard of Internet excellence. The 2008 eHealthcare Leadership Awards winners were chosen from more than 1,000 entries from online health companies, business improvement/vendor sites, large and small health care organizations, and pharmaceutical companies.

About Mayo Clinic

Mayo is a private group practice of medicine dedicated to providing diagnosis and treatment of patient illnesses through a systematic focus on individual patient needs. Mayo provides comprehensive hospital and outpatient services at each of its major locations -- Rochester, Minn.; Jacksonville, Fla.; and Phoenix and Scottsdale, Ariz. At each site, clinical practice is closely integrated with advanced education and research programs. Mayo also provides care through affiliated practices in Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin. Mayo is an affirmative action and equal opportunity educator and employer.

To obtain the latest news releases from Mayo Clinic, go to ( is available as a resource for your health stories.

SOURCE Mayo Clinic

Post your Comments

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
* Your comment can be maximum of 2500 characters
I agree to the terms and conditions

News A - Z


News Search

Medindia Newsletters

Subscribe to our Free Newsletters!

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Find a Doctor

Press Release Category

Press Release Archive

Stay Connected

  • Available on the Android Market
  • Available on the App Store