Lockwood, Sacco to lead American Heart Association in 2010-11

Thursday, July 1, 2010 General News
Email Print This Page Comment bookmark
Font : A-A+

DALLAS, July 1 The American Heart Association has announced its national officers for the 2010-11 fiscal year, which begins July 1.

(Logo: http://www.newscom.com/cgi-bin/prnh/20100222/AHSALOGO)

(Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20100222/AHSALOGO)

Debra W. Lockwood, CPA, executive vice president and chief financial officer of Provident Resources Group in Baton Rouge, La., is chairman. Ralph L. Sacco, M.D., M.S., Miller Professor of Neurology, Epidemiology and Human Genetics at the University of Miami's Miller School of Medicine, is president.

As chairman, Lockwood will be responsible for the association's business affairs, public relations and fundraising, and will preside over all board of directors and administrative cabinet meetings. Lockwood began volunteering for the association in 1997 and has been a member of the national board of directors and administrative cabinet since 2006. She was the association's secretary-treasurer from 2007 to 2009 and chairman of the Greater Southeast Affiliate in 2009-10.

As president, Sacco will serve as chief volunteer scientific and medical officer, responsible for medical, scientific and public health matters. An association volunteer for more than 25 years, Sacco has been a member of the national board of directors and administrative cabinet since 2006. He is the first neurologist to serve as the organization's president. In 2007 he received the association's Chairman's Award for his leadership in stroke-related initiatives.

The association has also announced its 2010-11 secretary-treasurer, chairman-elect and president-elect.

Ron W. Haddock, chairman of AEI Services LLC, Safety-Kleen Systems Inc. and Rubicon Offshore International, is secretary-treasurer. Haddock, of Dallas, will oversee the association's operational functions and revenue-generating opportunities. An association volunteer since 2001, Haddock is a member of the national board of directors and is 2010-11 chairman of the South Central Affiliate.

William H. Roach Jr., a partner in the law firm of McDermott Will & Emery LLP in Chicago, is chairman-elect. An association volunteer since 1996, Roach has been a member of the national board of directors and administrative cabinet since 2006 and was 2009-10 chairman of the Midwest Affiliate. He is a member of the National Audit Committee.

Gordon F. Tomaselli, M.D., director of the Division of Cardiology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore, is president-elect. An association volunteer for more than 15 years, Tomaselli has been a member of the national board of directors and administrative cabinet since 2006. In 2007 and 2008, Tomaselli chaired the Committee on Scientific Sessions Program, which organizes the association's annual international meeting.

About the American Heart Association

The American Heart Association is the nation's oldest and largest voluntary health organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. Our mission is to build healthier lives by preventing, treating and defeating these diseases - America's No. 1 and No. 3 killers. We fund cutting-edge research, conduct lifesaving public and professional educational programs, and advocate to protect public health. To learn more or join us in helping all Americans, call 1-800-AHA-USA1 or visit americanheart.org.

SOURCE American Heart Association

Post your Comments

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
* Your comment can be maximum of 2500 characters
I agree to the terms and conditions

News A - Z


News Search

Medindia Newsletters

Subscribe to our Free Newsletters!

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Find a Doctor

Press Release Category

Press Release Archive

Stay Connected

  • Available on the Android Market
  • Available on the App Store