CHS Foundation Awards $25,000 to Graduating High School Seniors

Wednesday, June 11, 2008 General News
Email Print This Page Comment bookmark
Font : A-A+

ST. PAUL, Minn., June 10 The CHS Foundation has awarded$25,000 in scholarships to high school students pursuing careers in theagriculture industry. The CHS Foundation is the major giving entity of CHS,an energy, grains and foods Fortune 200 company.

The new CHS Foundation High School Scholarship Program recognizes thenation's top youth in agriculture, and fosters the development of futureleaders in rural America, agribusiness and production agriculture.

"We are proud to extend our scholarship offering to high school seniors,"says William J. Nelson, CHS Foundation president. "As the industry continuesto grow, it's vitally important that we continue to build the next generationof leaders in the production, science, technology and business ofagriculture."

An independent, external committee selected recipients based on essays,career goals and extracurricular activities. Scholarships were awarded to thefollowing 25 students:

More information on all CHS Foundation scholarships is available at

The CHS Foundation ( is the major givingentity of CHS Inc. (, a diversified energy, grains andfoods Fortune 200 company committed to providing the essential resources thatenrich lives. As a part of the CHS stewardship focus, the CHS Foundation iscommitted to investing in the future of rural America, agriculture andcooperative business through education and leadership development. With morethan $30 million in assets, the CHS Foundation annually distributes $1.7million through grants, scholarships and educational support.Colorado Cashley Ahlberg of Longmont Northeastern Junior College, Sterling, Colo. Erin Karney of Las Animas Colorado State University, Fort Collin, Colo. Idaho Stephen Parrott of Buhl University of Idaho, Moscow, Idaho Illinois Ashlea Tucker of Fairfield Murray State University, Murray, Ky. Iowa Scott Henry of Nevada Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa Adam Holm of Story City Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa Indiana Brooke Davisson of Salem Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind. Michigan Clinton Steketee of Caledonia Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich. Minnesota Jakob DeBerg of Springfield South Dakota State University, Brookings, S.D. Daniel Fox of Rosemount University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, Minneapolis, Minn. Emily Johnson of Warren North Dakota State University, Fargo, N.D. Justin Krell of Blooming Prairie South Dakota State University, Brookings, S.D. Elizabeth Olson of Hutchinson University of Minnesota Twin Cities, Minneapolis, Minn. Laura Thompson of Starbuck University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, Minneapolis, Minn. Missouri Jacqueline Roberts of Lancaster University of Missouri-Columbia, Columbia, Mo. Montana Colter Brown of Huntley Montana State University-Bozeman, Bozeman, Mont. Sierra Reyher of Belgrade Montana State University, Bozeman, Mont. Ohio Calvin Sinn of Haviland Owens Community College, Toledo, Ohio Oregon Miriam Hawk of Talent Oregon State University, Corvallis, Ore. South Dakota Nickolas Soukup of Scotland Mitchell Technical Institute, Mitchell, S.D. Texas Christi Chadwell of Garland Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas Kyle Darden of Utopia Tarleton State University, Stephenville, Texas Washington Christina

Post your Comments

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
* Your comment can be maximum of 2500 characters
I agree to the terms and conditions

News A - Z


News Search

Medindia Newsletters

Subscribe to our Free Newsletters!

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Find a Doctor

Press Release Category

Press Release Archive

Stay Connected

  • Available on the Android Market
  • Available on the App Store