Evaluation of Headache

Email Comment bookmark
Font : A-A+

Specific Headache Syndromes


Migraine is an episodic headache that may be classified into three types:

1. Migraine with aura (old term classic migraine)

2. Migraine without aura (old term common migraine)

3. Migraine variants (retinal migraine, opthalmoplegic migraine, familial hemiplegic migraine)

Migraine is about three times more common in women than men, tends to run in families, and is typically a disorder of young, healthy women.

Migraine without aura is the most common type, accounting for approximately 80 percent of all migraine sufferers.


The current state of knowledge in this field suggests that a primary neuronal dysfunction leads to a sequence of changes intracranially and extracranially that account for the phenomenon of migraine, including the three phases of prodrome, aura, and headache. Individuals prone to migraine have a genetic migrainous threshold that renders them susceptible to an acute migraine attack depending upon the balance between excitation and inhibition at various levels of the nervous system.

Post a Comment

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
Notify me when reply is posted
I agree to the terms and conditions

CME Lessons

Medindia Newsletters

Subscribe to our Free Newsletters!

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Find a Doctor