Email Print This Page Comment bookmark
Font : A-A+

Pranayama for awakening Kundalini

  1. Fix your mind on the Muladhara chakra or root chakra at the base of the spine. This is the

    seat of kundalini energy.
  2. By gently closing the right nostril with the right thumb, inhale through the left nostril to

    the count of three or say 'Om'.
  3. Retain the breath for a count of twelve 'Om' by closing the left nostril.
  4. Visualise a current and send it down to the root chakra to awaken the

  5. Then slowly exhale through the right nostril to the count of 6 'Om'.
  6. In this pranayama, one must fix the concentration on the Muladhara chakra.
  7. This pranayama will gradually awaken the kundalini
  8. Do this pranayama thrice in the morning and repeat it in the evening too.

Even practice of Hatha yoga balances the flow of Ida and Pingala current.

Prana should be directed to flow in the Sushumna Nadi. Causing prana to flow in Sushumna nadi is

the most essential preparation for awakening the kundalini power.

Ida and Pingala current flow along the spine with Ida along the left side and Pingala along the

right side. Sushumna courses through the chakras between the Ida and Pingala. Both Ida and

Pingala current converge at the space between the eyebrows, the Ajna chakra.

Meditation on the Ajna chakra helps balance the Ida and Pingala current. Focusing the attention

of the mind on the flow of breath from the nostrils causes prana to flow in the Sushumna. This is

one of the vital steps in the inner journey towards the awakening of
Kundalini energy.

Techniques to awaken the kundalini:

  • Physical: Asanas, mudras and bandhas
  • Breath: Pranayama with bandhas and kumbhaka
  • Meditation: When the degree of concentration increases, it results in Samadhi.
  • Mantra: The subtle vibrations that help awaken the kundalini energy.

Kundalini is now raised upwards. Once the kundalini is awakened, it has to be

guided through the Sushumna, along each of the chakras to the Sahasrara or the crown


When kundalini is awakened, it passes on from Muladhara to Sahasrara through all the

chakras. The yogi enjoys supreme bliss when kundalini is taken to Sahasrara chakra or the crown

chakra. This union is the essence of yoga and signifies the union of Shakthi with her Shiva.



Post a Comment

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
Notify me when reply is posted
I agree to the terms and conditions

Yoga exercises helps in increased our strength, Yoga also helps clear the mind and distress using meditation. The benefits of yoga are numerous.


I feel cold & pain in calf muscle, ankle & toes while standing, sitting or lying down but while walking or excercising (including running) it's allright ie no cold & no pain


very interesting and kindles my interest to know more and more about yoga.



Medindia Newsletters

Subscribe to our Free Newsletters!

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Find a Doctor