Some Books Like the Vampire Books Could be Affecting Teens' Minds

by Savitha C Muppala on  September 22, 2010 at 6:18 PM General Health News   - G J E 4
Vampire books like 'Twilight' could be changing the way teens think,scientists have revealed.

"We don't know exactly how literature affects the brain, but we know that it does," Live Science quoted Maria Nikolajeva of Cambridge University as saying.
 Some Books Like the Vampire Books Could be Affecting Teens' Minds
Some Books Like the Vampire Books Could be Affecting Teens' Minds

"Some new findings have identified spots in the brain that respond to literature and art," she said.

Previously, scientists, authors and educators met in Cambridge for a conference organized by Nikolajeva to discuss how young-adult books and movies affect teenagers' minds.

"For young people, everything is so strange, and you cannot really say why you react to things - it's a difficult period to be a human being," said Nikolajeva.

The conference brought together "people from different disciplines to share what we know about this turbulent period we call adolescence," she said.

"What we have learned over the past decade is that the teenage brain processes information differently than a more mature brain," said conference presenter Karen Coats.

"Brain imaging shows that teens are more likely to respond to situations emotionally, and they are less likely to consider consequences through rational forethought," said Coats.

Linguistic anthropologist Shirley Brice Heath of Stanford University said by e-mail: "What neuroscience opens for us is what happens within the brain during specific activities that take place within identifiable emotional or motivational states."

Nikolajeva said: "If you look very, very clearly at what kind of values the 'Twilight' books propagate, these are very conservative values that do not in any way endorse independent thinking or personal development or a woman's position as an independent creature. That's quite depressing."

Nikolajeva argued that authors have a moral responsibility to include some positivity and hope in works aimed at teens.

"If young people read books where there is no hope at all, it's really damaging. We need to be aware of young people being influenced by what they read or watch, the games they play. It all plays a very important role," she added.

Source: ANI

Post your Comments

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
User Avatar
* Your comment can be maximum of 2500 characters
Notify me when reply is posted I agree to the terms and conditions

You May Also Like

View All