Trauma center accreditation granted to two additional hospitals in Pennsylvania

Tuesday, August 2, 2016 Hospital News J E 4

MECHANICSBURG, Pa., Aug. 2, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Trauma Center Accreditation status has been granted to two additional hospitals in Pennsylvania starting September 1, 2016.

Level II Trauma Center Accreditation:  Lankenau Medical Center, Wynnewood, PALevel III Trauma Center Accreditation:  Meadville Medical Center, Meadville, PA

The Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation (PTSF) is a non-profit corporation recognized by the Emergency Medical Services Act (Act 1985-45).  The PTSF is the organization responsible for accrediting trauma centers in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Trauma centers are hospitals with resources immediately available to provide optimal care and reduce the likelihood of death or disability to injured patients.  Accredited trauma centers must be continuously prepared to treat the most serious life threatening and disabling injuries.  They are not intended to replace the traditional hospital and its emergency department for minor injuries. 

In Pennsylvania there are four levels of trauma centers. Level I trauma centers provide the highest degree of resources with a full spectrum of specialists and must have trauma research and surgical residency programs.  Level II trauma centers meet the same high level of care but do not require research and residency programs and the following subspecialists: cardiac surgery, hand surgery, vascular re-implantation, oral/maxillofacial surgery, otorhinolaryngological surgery, neurology, physiatry and psychiatry. Level III trauma centers are smaller community hospitals that do not require neurosurgeons and focus on stabilizing severe trauma patients prior to transport to a higher level trauma center.  They may admit patients with mild and moderate injuries.  Level IV trauma centers provide enhanced care to injured patients within the emergency department and focus on stabilization and quick transfer to a higher level trauma center. They may admit mildly injured patients.

Each trauma center regardless of its level is an integral component of the emergency medical services (EMS) system.  The EMS system assures appropriate patient care management from the time of injury to treatment at a local hospital or trauma center through the rehabilitative phase of care. As of September 1, 2016 there will 36 trauma centers in Pennsylvania.


To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:

SOURCE Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation



You May Also Like

View All

Post your Comments

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
User Avatar
* Your comment can be maximum of 2500 characters
I agree to the terms and conditions
Roche launches new target enrichment systems for g...
ContraVir Reports Positive Data from Phase 1b Stud...