Texas Nurses Association Awards Nine Hospitals the Nurse-Friendly Designation

Thursday, September 20, 2007 General News J E 4
AUSTIN, Texas, Sept. 20 Texas NursesAssociation (TNA), a statewide professional organization of registered nurses,today announced nine new additions to a growing list of hospitals in Texas whohave earned the Nurse-Friendly(TM) hospital designation. Naming of the Fall2007 recipients of the designation now brings to a total of 49 the facilitieswho have achieved the distinction. There are approximately 581 licensedhospitals in Texas.

TNA's Nurse-Friendly designation confirms that a hospital has in itspractices, policies and procedures the 12 essential elements of the idealnursing practice environment -- as defined by nurses and research -- thatallow nurses to practice safe, quality patient care and to pursue a level ofprofessional development and career satisfaction that retains them in theprofession and at the bedside.

"Hospitals who apply for the designation," explained Susan Sportsman, PhD,RN, president of TNA, "must demonstrate through a quite rigorous process thatthey're committed to supporting a nursing practice environment that isconsistent with excellent patient care. Then, a majority of the hospital'snurses must confirm that fact through a confidential survey."

Awarded just twice a year -- in the Spring and the Fall -- the designationwas presented at a special awards ceremony held during TNA's 7th AnnualNursing Leadership Conference, a two-day event that brings to Austin some ofnursing's foremost researchers, thought leaders and policy makers.

About Texas Nurses Association

Established in 1907, Texas Nurses Association ( a professional organization of registered nurses, and the only Texasaffiliate of the American Nurses Association. Texas Nurses Association seeksto advance the profession and promote excellence in nursing by helping nursesachieve quality patient care through high standards of practice, legislativeinvolvement, and public policy advocacy.

Nurse-Friendly is a certification mark of Texas Nurses Association.(Logo: ) Recipients of the Fall 2007 Nurse-Friendly hospital designation are: -- Baylor Regional Medical Center at Plano - Plano -- College Station Medical Center - College Station -- Guadalupe Regional Medical Center - Seguin -- Hendrick Medical Center - Abilene -- Lake Pointe Medical Center - Rowlett -- Medical Center of Lewisville - Lewisville -- Memorial Hermann The Woodlands Hospital - The Woodlands -- St. David's Georgetown Hospital - Georgetown -- The Menninger Clinic - Houston

SOURCE Texas Nurses Association


You May Also Like

View All

Post your Comments

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
User Avatar
* Your comment can be maximum of 2500 characters
I agree to the terms and conditions
Pharmion Corporation to Present at UBS 2007 Global...
Marianjoy Inpatient Brain Injury Programs Receive ...