Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation Trauma Center Accreditation Granted to One Additional Hospital in Pennsylvania

Tuesday, October 3, 2017 General News
Email Print This Page Comment bookmark
Font : A-A+

CAMP HILL, Pa., Oct. 3, 2017 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Trauma center accreditation status has been granted to one additional

hospital in Pennsylvania starting November 1, 2017.

Level IV Trauma Center Accreditation:  Wayne Memorial Hospital, Honesdale, PA


November 1, 2017, this brings the total number of trauma centers in Pennsylvania to 40 comprised of the hospitals below:             

Combined Adult Level 1 /Pediatric Level I Trauma Centers

1.      Hershey – Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center

Combined Adult Level 1/Pediatric Level II Trauma Centers

2.      Allentown – Lehigh Valley Health Network – Cedar Crest Campus

3.      Danville – Geisinger Medical Center

Adult Level I Trauma Centers

4.      Bethlehem – St. Luke's University Hospital – Bethlehem Campus

5.      Johnstown – Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center

6.      Philadelphia – Einstein Medical Center

7.      Philadelphia – Hahnemann University Hospital

8.      Philadelphia – Temple University Hospital

9.      Philadelphia – Thomas Jefferson University Hospital

10.    Philadelphia – Penn Presbyterian Medical Center

11.    Pittsburgh – Allegheny General Hospital

12.    Pittsburgh – The University of Pittsburgh Medical Center – Mercy

13.    Pittsburgh – The University of Pittsburgh Medical Center – Presbyterian

14.    York – Wellspan York Hospital

Pediatric Level I Trauma Centers

15.    Philadelphia – St. Christopher's Hospital for Children

16.    Philadelphia – The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

17.    Pittsburgh – The Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC

Adult Level II Trauma Centers

18.    Abington – Abington Memorial Hospital

19.    Altoona – The University of Pittsburgh Medical Center – Altoona

20.    Camp Hill – Geisinger Holy Spirit

21.    Erie – The University of Pittsburgh Medical Center – Hamot 

22.    Lancaster – Lancaster General Hospital

23.    Langhorne – St. Mary Medical Center

24.    Monroeville – Forbes Regional Hospital

25.    Paoli – Paoli Hospital

26.    Philadelphia – Aria Health – Torresdale Campus

27.    Reading – Reading Hospital – Tower Health

28.    Sayre – Guthrie Robert Packer Hospital

29.    Scranton – Geisinger Community Medical Center

30.    Upland – Crozer-Chester Medical Center

31.    Wilkes-Barre – Geisinger Wyoming Valley Medical Center

32.    Wilkes-Barre – Commonwealth Health Wilkes-Barre General Hospital

33.    Wynnewood – Lankenau Medical Center

Level III Trauma Centers

34.    East Stroudsburg – Lehigh Valley Hospital – Pocono

Level IV Trauma Centers

35.    Coaldale – St. Luke's University Hospital – Miners Campus

36.    Grove City – Grove City Medical Center

37.    Hazleton – Lehigh Valley Hospital – Hazleton

38.    Quakertown – St. Luke's Hospital – Quakertown Campus

39.    Troy – Guthrie Troy Community Hospital

40.    Honesdale – Wayne Memorial Hospital

The Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation (PTSF) is a non-profit corporation recognized by the Emergency Medical Services Act (Act 1985-45).  The PTSF is the organization responsible for accrediting trauma centers in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Trauma centers are hospitals with resources immediately available to provide optimal care and reduce the likelihood of death or disability to injured patients.  Accredited trauma centers must be continuously prepared to treat the most serious life threatening and disabling injuries.  They are not intended to replace the traditional hospital and its emergency department for minor injuries. 

In Pennsylvania, there are four levels of trauma centers. Level I trauma centers provide the highest degree of resources with a full spectrum of specialists and must have trauma research and surgical residency programs.  Level II trauma centers require the same high level of care but do not require research and residency programs and the following subspecialists: cardiac surgery, hand surgery, vascular re-implantation, oral/maxillofacial surgery, otorhinolaryngological surgery, neurology, physiatry and psychiatry. Level III trauma centers are smaller community hospitals that do not require neurosurgeons and focus on stabilizing severe trauma patients prior to transport to a higher-level trauma center.  They may admit patients with mild and moderate injuries.  Level IV trauma centers provide enhanced care to injured patients within the emergency department and focus on stabilization and quick transfer to a higher-level trauma center. They may admit mildly injured patients.

Each trauma center regardless of its level is an integral component of the emergency medical services (EMS) system.  The EMS system assures appropriate patient care management from the time of injury to treatment at a local hospital or trauma center through the rehabilitative phase of care. As of September 1, 2017, there will be 40 trauma centers in Pennsylvania.

A comprehensive list of the Commonwealth's trauma centers is located at

View original content:

SOURCE Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation

Post your Comments

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
* Your comment can be maximum of 2500 characters
I agree to the terms and conditions

News A - Z


News Search

Medindia Newsletters

Subscribe to our Free Newsletters!

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Find a Doctor

Press Release Category

Press Release Archive

Stay Connected

  • Available on the Android Market
  • Available on the App Store