Nominations Sought by Courage Center for Three Annual Awards

Saturday, April 17, 2010 General News
Email Print This Page Comment bookmark
Font : A-A+

MINNEAPOLIS, April 16 Minneapolis-based Courage Center, a nonprofit rehabilitation and resource center, is accepting nominations for three employment-related annual awards: the Jay and Rose Phillips Award, the Phillips Caregiver Award and the Judd Jacobson Memorial Award.

Phillips Awards:

The Phillips Award winners are recognized at the 2010 Celebration of Courage, set for Saturday, Sept. 11 at the Earle Brown Heritage Center in Brooklyn Center. The Awards are made possible by funding from the Jay and Rose Phillips Family Foundation. Forms are available on Courage Center's website - The deadline for both Phillips awards is Friday, June 4, 2010. Winners will be notified in July.

Judd Jacobson Memorial Award

Established in 1992, the Jacobson Award recognizes the pursuit or achievement of a business entrepreneurial endeavor by a person with a physical disability or sensory impairment. The award recipient will be honored on Sept. 30, 2010, and receives a $5,000 cash award to advance his or her business endeavors.

Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and reside in Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa or North or South Dakota. Applicants must demonstrate entrepreneurial skill, financial need, exceptional personal commitment, and have received little or no public recognition for their business endeavor. An application is available at Application deadline is Friday, May 21, 2010.

About Courage Center

Courage Center is a nonprofit rehabilitation and resource center that advances the lives of children and adults experiencing barriers to health and independence. At Courage Center, we specialize in treating brain injury, spinal cord injury, stroke, chronic pain, autism, and disabilities experienced since birth. Founded in 1928, Minneapolis-based Courage Center offers advanced technologies and innovation provided in part through the efforts of thousands of volunteers and donors. For more information visit

-- The Jay and Rose Phillips Awards are presented each year by Courage Center to people with disabilities who have achieved outstanding vocational and community success. Three people will be recognized for this employment award and receive a $2,000 cash award. -- The Phillips Caregiver Award. Disability does not occur in a vacuum, and often has a profound and permanent impact on the people surrounding and interacting with the person with a disability. The Phillips Caregiver Award acknowledges and honors a behind-the-scenes caregiver whose dedication, professionalism and assistance are vital to the successful work and community involvement of a person with a disability. One person will receive a $2,000 cash award.

SOURCE Courage Center

Post your Comments

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
* Your comment can be maximum of 2500 characters
I agree to the terms and conditions

News A - Z


News Search

Medindia Newsletters

Subscribe to our Free Newsletters!

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Find a Doctor

Press Release Category

Press Release Archive

Stay Connected

  • Available on the Android Market
  • Available on the App Store