Medindia

X

/C O R R E C T I O N -- Global AIDS Alliance Fund/

Thursday, November 29, 2007 General News J E 4
Advertisement
In the news release, World AIDS Day Teleconference for Media, Including Helen Epstein, Author of the Invisible Cure, and Beatrice Were, Ugandan Women's Rights Advocate, issued 28-Nov-2007 by Global AIDS Alliance Fund over PR Newswire, we are advised by the organization that the phone numbers in the contact information and message to editors should read "+1-800-909-5202" for within the U.S. and Canada and "+1-785-830-7975" for outside the U.S. and Canada rather than "+1-877-856-1961, +1719-325-4781" as originally issued inadvertently. The complete, corrected release follows:







11:30 am ET, Thursday, Nov. 29



WASHINGTON, Nov. 28 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The following was issued today by the Global AIDS Alliance Fund:



WHAT: A press briefing by conference call with experts on global HIV/AIDS, assessing the latest epidemic update as well as recently issued proposals by several of the candidates for US President, including Senator Clinton.



We will discuss what the new estimates of the AIDS crisis mean for the next phase of the global response, as Congress begins to rewrite the law authorizing the US AIDS program. Journalists will have the chance to ask questions of several top experts, including the author of a recent book on the AIDS crisis in Africa.



WHO: Helen Epstein - a public health specialist and molecular biologist who has worked on AIDS vaccine research. She is the author of The Invisible Cure.

Beatrice Were -- a Ugandan AIDS and women's rights activist and a founder of the National Community of Women Living with AIDS. She was awarded Human Rights Defender of the Year by Human Rights Watch in both 2005 and in 2006.

Joanne Carter -- Associate Executive Director of RESULTS/RESULTS Educational Fund (REF). For 14 years, she has worked with key Congressional allies to draft legislation and lead campaigns to combat diseases of poverty.

Dr. Paul Zeitz -- Executive Director of the Global AIDS Alliance Fund, who is attending this week's high level meeting on pediatric AIDS in South Africa.



WHEN: Thursday, November 29, 2007 11:30 am ET (10:30 am CT / 9:30 am MT / 8:30 am PT)





SOURCE Global AIDS Alliance Fund
Advertisement


Advertisement

You May Also Like

Advertisement
View All

Post your Comments

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
User Avatar
* Your comment can be maximum of 2500 characters
I agree to the terms and conditions
s
Global Summit on AIDS and the Church Begins Today ...
S
SIRIUS OutQ Honors International Day of AIDS Aware...