Bryant College Football Coach of the Year Watch List Released

Tuesday, October 27, 2009 General News J E 4
HOUSTON, Oct. 26 The Paul "Bear" Bryant Awards committee of the American Heart Association selected its Bryant Watch List for the 2009 College Football Coach of the Year. The selection committee consists of current and past event chairmen, Bryant family representatives, National Sportscasters & Sportswriters Association representatives, college football sports analysts and former collegiate players and coaches.

The Bryant College Football Coach of the Year finalists will be announced in December and attend an awards dinner in Houston on Jan. 14, 2010. The winner will be announced live that evening. The winner of the Bryant College Football Coach of the Year is voted on by members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association and is the only college football coaching award voted on after all bowl games are played.

January's event will also recognize the University of Georgia's legendary coach and athletic director, Vince Dooley as the Bryant Lifetime Achievement Recipient. This award recognizes excellence in coaching on and off the field during a career, allowing recipients to take their place in history alongside legends such as Bryant.

Bryant College Coach of the Year Watch List in alphabetical order by coach:

The Bryant Awards honor excellence in coaching while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke, the nation's No. 1 and No. 3 killers. Bryant himself suffered a heart attack prior to his death in 1983. Funds raised benefit research, community education and outreach programs of the AHA. For more information, or to purchase tickets or a table for the event, contact Kristin Rodriguez at 713-610-5026 or visit

Contact: Tiffany Travis, American Heart Association

(713) 610-5041

-- Robb Akey - University of Idaho -- Mack Brown - University of Texas -- Pete Carroll - University of Southern California -- Kirk Ferentz - University of Iowa -- Al Golden - Temple University -- Mike Gundy - Oklahoma State University -- Paul Johnson - Georgia Institute of Technology -- Brian Kelly - University of Cincinnati -- Chip Kelly - University of Oregon -- Bronco Mendenhall - Brigham Young University -- Urban Meyer - University of Florida -- Les Miles - Louisiana State University -- Joe Paterno - Penn State University -- Gary Patterson - Texas Christian University -- Chris Petersen - Boise State University -- Nick Saban - University of Alabama -- Randy Shannon - University of Miami -- Bill Stewart - West Virginia University -- Kevin Sumlin - University of Houston -- Dave Wannstedt - University of Pittsburgh

SOURCE American Heart Association Houston Division


You May Also Like

View All

Post your Comments

Comments should be on the topic and should not be abusive. The editorial team reserves the right to review and moderate the comments posted on the site.
User Avatar
* Your comment can be maximum of 2500 characters
I agree to the terms and conditions
DURECT Corporation Invites You to Join its Third Q...
Solutia Reports Third Quarter 2009 Results